April 22, 2010 - Departmental Award Winners Announced

At the Honors Convocation on Thursday, April 22, the following students were recognized for excellence in mathematics and computer science:

  • The E.R. Sleight Award in Mathematics, given to the outstanding senior mathematics major, was awarded to Kathryn Wagner.
  • The Ronald C. and Carol J. Fryxell Award in Computer Science, awarded to the outstanding senior computer science major, was given to Robert Sessions and Michael Smar.
  • The James R. Lancaster, Sr. Award in Mathematics, given each year to a junior mathematics or computer science major who best exemplifies the liberally educated mathematics or computer science student, was awarded to Chris Creighton and Rachel Kamischke.
  • The Ronald C. and Carol J. Fryxell Scholarship in Computer Science was awarded to Geoff Keyes and Andy Malicowski.
  • The Louis R. Bragg and Mary Huemiller Bragg '69 Endowed Scholarship in Mathematics was awarded to Rachel Kamischke, Sophia Potoczak, William Spencer, and Mingjia Yang.