2009 - 2010 Native Speakers



Hi, I am Catherine the German TA for the coming year.

In Germany I live in a small village in the Saarland (next to the French boarder) that is located about 150 miles from Frankfurt am Main. I study at the University of the Saarland, in Saarbrücken which is also the capital of the Saarland. My majors are French, English and educational sciences, in order to become a teacher.

I will be working with the German 101, 201 and 301 classes this year. Unfortunately I cannot give all of the 101 tutorials that is why we have two more tutors -Clara Etzel and Christine Grahl- each of whom will be responsible for one 101 tutorial. The weekly cultural activity will take place every Wednesday evening from 7-8 pm in Whitehouse. The language table is also going to be on Wednesdays from noon to 1pm in upper Baldwin. Everyone who is interested in German language and culture is hereby sincerely invited to both!

If you have any questions, feel free to contact me.  I wish you all the best for the school year!!! 


Ich bin Catherine und die deutsche TA für das kommende Jahr.

Ich komme aus einem kleinen Dorf im Saarland, (direkt neben der französischen Grenze) das ungefähr 200 km von Frankfurt am Main entfernt ist. Ich studiere an der Universität des Saarlandes, in Saarbrücken, der Hauptstadt des Saarlandes. Meine Fächer sind Französisch, Englisch und Erziehungswissenschaften auf Lehramt für Gymnasien und Gesamtschulen.

Dieses Jahr werde ich die 101, 201 und 301 Tutorien machen. Doch leider kann ich nicht alle 101 Tutorien übernehmen, deswegen bekomme ich Hilfe von Clara Etzel und Christine Grahl, die jeweils ein 101 Tutorium leiten werden. Unsere wöchentliche kulturelle Aktivität findet jeweils Mittwoch abends von 19-20 Uhr im Whitehouse statt. Der Sprachtisch ist auch Mittwochs von 12-13 Uhr in Upper Baldwin. Also wenn ihr Interesse an der deutschen Sprache und/oder Kultur habt, seid ihr zu beidem herzlichst eingeladen!!!

Falls ihr irgendwelche Fragen an mich habt, könnt ihr mir gerne eine Email schreiben ().

Noch Fragen???!!!

Ich wünsche euch alles gute für das kommende College- Jahr!

Liebe Grüße,  Catherine


Hello, my name is Fanny Aponte, I am from Peru, and I am at Albion College in order to be one of the Spanish TAs. Because I am very happy to share this experience here with you, I want to tell you some things about myself.

One of my favorite's hobbies is to dance. I most enjoy doing the  "Marinera Norteña". Its origin is from Northern Peru but is very popular throughout my country. Its couple's dance and handkerchiefs are normally used as props.

In addition, I love to eat fruit, especially "Chirimoya" (Annona cherimolia), since it is sweet and soft. What I miss most about home is my dog "Gasparin".  I hope we can meet each other and have a great academic year!


Hola mi nombre es Fanny Aponte, yo soy de Perú y estoy en Albion College para ser uno de los TAs en Español. Yo estoy muy contenta de compartir esta experiencia con ustedes. Por ello, quiero contarles algo sobre mí.

Uno de mis pasatiempos favoritos, es bailar "Marinera Norteña". Es una daza típica del Norte del Perú.

También me encanta comer fruta, y una de mis favoritas es la "Chirimoya" (Annona cherimolia), porque es dulce y suave. Una de las cosas que más extraño de casa, es a mi perro. Su nombre es "Gasparin".  Por último, espero nos llevemos bien y podamos, así, aprender uno del otro!



Hi! My name is Paul Vargas and I am one of the Spanish Teacher Assistants for this year. I am from the state of Colima, Mexico. I have just graduated from the Faculty of Foreign languages of the University of Colima. I am interested in learning other languages, but above all on fomenting the study of Spanish as a native or second language.

In Albion I am in charge of the tutorials of Spanish 301, likewise I will be participating in the language tables and the weekly activities of the Whitehouse that will take place in the I-space. I am living on the third floor of the Whitehouse, room number 325. My e-mail address is you can write me there or stop by my room so we can chat and have some fun. 

I am interested in Anime, I like series like Chobits, Samurai X, Evangelion, Basilisk etc…I also like to listen to music. My favorite band is Nirvana, but I also listen to Rap, rock, and bands as Portishead and electronic music. I like the park and outdoor sports. I have been vegetarian for two years now.

Well, you know a little bit about me, if you want to know more or have any questions about Mexico, any doubt about Spanish, or just want to chat, you have my info so you can contact me.


¡Hola! Me llamo Paul Vargas y soy uno de los asistentes de maestro de español de este año. Soy de México, del estado de Colima.  Acabo de graduarme de la Facultad de Lenguas de la Universidad de Colima. Me interesa aprender otras lenguas, pero sobre todo fomentar el estudio del español tanto como lengua nativa como segunda lengua.

En Albion estoy a cargo de las tutorías de español 301, de igual manera estaré participando en las mesas de conversación y en las actividades semanales que se llevaran a cabo en el espacio internacional de Whithehouse. Estoy viviendo en el tercer piso de Whitehouse cuarto número 325. Mi dirección de correo electrónico es pueden escribirme o visitarme para conversar y pasar un buen rato.

Dentro de mis intereses personales se encuentra el Anime, me gusta mucho las series como Chobits, Samurai X, Evangelion, Basilisk etc… me gusta mucho escuchar música. Mi grupo favorito es Nirvana, pero también escucho un poco de Rap, rock, bandas como Portishead  y música electrónica. Me gusta Le Parkour y los deportes al aire libre. Soy vegetariano desde hace dos años.

Bueno, ya saben un poco sobre mí, si quieren saber más o tienen pregunta sobre México, alguna duda sobre español o simplemente quieren platicar ya tienen mis datos donde encontrarme. 





Hello everyone,

I'm Thomas Boykin, a new TA this year and I hope I will meet as many students as possible. I will describe myself in a few lines to give you an overview of my personality. I come from a small town, Bailly, located in the western suburbs of Paris. Bailly is in partnership with Albion, that is the reason of my coming to the United States. I am 24 years old and I practice club soccer.

I've finished my studies and I have a bachelor's degree in communication. I would like finding a job in an advertising agency here in the U.S.

My favorite movies are American History X and Fight Club. My favorite actor is Edward Norton.

I listen to a lot of rock like Ben Harper, Lenny Kravitz, U2, The Doors, and The Beatles. I also like drum and bass and jazz.  My favorite foods are crepes, chacuterie and croissants.

I enjoy traveling, parties, but also meeting more people from different backgrounds. I've lived for 4 months in Madrid in an apartment with 23 roommates from different countries such as Sweden, Italy, Ireland, Mexico, United States, Chile, and so on.  I hope this short description will give you the desire to know me more. I hope I have a pleasant stay in your company this year


Bonjour tout le monde,

Je suis le nouveau TA de cette annee et j espere rencontrer le plus d etudiants possible. Pour se faire je vais me decrire en quelques lignes afin de vous donner un apercu de ma personnalite. Je viens d une petite ville, Bailly, qui se trouve dans la banlieue ouest de Paris. Bailly est en partenariat avec Albion, c est la raison de ma venue aux Etats-Unis. J ai 24 ans et je pratique le soccer en club.

J ai termine mes etudes, j ai un bachelor en communication et j aimerai trouver  un travail dans une agence de publicite ici aux US.  Mes film preferes sont American History X et Fight Club. Mon acteur prefere est Edward Norton.

J ecoute beaucoup de rock comme Ben Harper, Lenny Kravitz, U2, The Doors, the Beatles. J aime aussi la Drum and Bass et le jazz.

Mes plats prefere sont les crepes, la chacuterie et les croissants.   J aime beaucoup voyager, faire la fete, mais surtout rencontrer le maximum de personnes venant de divers horizons. J ai vecu pendant 4 mois a Madrid dans un appartement avec 23 colocataire venant de pays different comme la Suede, l Italie, l Irlande, le Mexique, Les Etats-Unis, le Chili......

J espere que cette breve description vous donnera envie de me connaitre d avantage. J espere passer un bon sejour en votre compagnie cette annee.


Return to the Modern Languages & Cultures Home