Department News

Pender, '13, Accepted into Cornell Biomed Engineering Ph.D. Program

Mitch Pender, '13

Mitch Pender, '13
Recent graduate Mitch Pender spent the end of his last Albion semester making a tough decision—which of six graduate school offers to accept. Pender's choice is Cornell University, where he'll enroll as a doctoral student in the biomedical engineering program. The graduate research fellowship will cover tuition and living costs for the five-year program, and is valued at more than $300,000.

Fink, Reddy Named German RISE Interns

Alissa Reddy and Eric Fink
Albion students Eric Fink and Alissa Reddy were recently awarded internships with the Research Internships in Science and Engineering (RISE) program, part of the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD). The DAAD/RISE program will pay Fink and Reddy, both majoring in chemistry and German, while they live in Germany for three months, working with German doctoral candidates on chemistry research.

Students, Faculty Attend National Scientific Society Meetings

Krysta Schroeder, '13
Chemistry Department students and faculty recently traveled to the American Chemical Society national meeting and the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology annual meeting to present the results of their research and attend a variety of presentations highlighting research advances in chemistry and biochemistry.

Chem/Biochem Students Recognized at Honors Convocation

The Chemistry Department congratulates all of our students who were recognized during the 2013 Honors Convocation:

Phi Beta Kappa:  Jordan Brand, Kimberly Leverenz, Alex Nanna, Mitchell Pender, Trevor Peterson, William Sturdavant

Sigma Xi:  Hannah Allgaier, Michael Dix, Grace Dougherty, Erica Earl, Eric Fink, Hayley Gerber, Joseph Jones, Alex Nanna, Phu Khat Nwe, Mitchell Pender, Trevor Peterson, Brandon Sams, Stephanie Sanders, Krysta Schroeder, Joseph Thomas

Departmental Honors: Christopher Kruppe, Alex Nanna, Phu Khat Nwe, Krysta Schroeder, William Sturdavant, Cassuandra Waun

David L. Randall Award for the Outstanding Senior Chemistry Major: Alex Nanna and Mitchell Pender

Marvin F. Grostic Chemistry Scholarship: Victoria Sochor and Alexander Tu

Richard K. Vitek Chemistry Scholarship:  Anne Galus, Stephanie Sanders, and William Schmidt

Daniel M. Steffenson Endowed Chemistry Scholarship: Corbin Livingston

David W. Green Endowed Chemistry Scholarship: Michael Dix

More Articles ...